Challenge accepted

Well, it looks like I’m registered on the latest Retro Challenge,so I’d better make a start:

http://www.retrochallenge.org/p/entrants-list-201704.html

What I’ve decided is that I’d like to make an attempt at resurrecting my Acorn A5000.

The machine did originally work, but the all-to-common problem of a rechargeable battery leak happened a couple of years back. I removed the battery and cleaned up most of the resulting mess and the machine appeared to have survived,however it then started to show further symptoms of circuit damage. When powered on, the A5000 refused to boot into the GUI, but instead dropped into a supervisor prompt and all attempts to get any further failed. The Acorn was then packed away for another year or so, with a house move somewhere in the middle, and now fails to boot at all.

My challenge entry will attempt to bring this machine back to life…

Leave a Reply

